Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As I embark on my “Mid-life” journey, uncertainty seems to be the norm, more so even than when I was a youngster embarking on adulthood. Mid-life is a sneaky thing. It became a part of me before I realized it. This blog, in part, was a search for answers and my true identity since questions of my quintessential existence surfaced a couple of years ago. Such questions filled my teenage years and subsided for a while, only to flood my life again at mid-life.

There is so much I haven’t been able to express openly but I do share them with those I trust. One day, perhaps I will have the courage to “bare it all” without feeling triggered by past traumas. In the meantime, I feel both fear and excitement as I greet every day of my Mid-life. I find the following description of my state of being quite accurate:

“I have a sneaking suspicion that the transition zone is the only real thing, and the bars are the illusions we dream up to not notice the void. Yes, with all the fear that can accompany transitions, they are still the most vibrant, growth-filled, passionate moments in our lives. And so transformation of fear may have nothing to do with making fear go away, but rather with giving ourselves permission to ‘hang out’ in the transition zone– between the trapeze bars – allowing ourselves to dwell in the only place where change really happens. It can be terrifying. It can also be enlightening. Hurtling through the void, we just may learn to fly.”

~Excerpted from Warriors of the Heart by Danaan Parry

Trapeze

